Sunday Dinner: Details

~

“Everything made by human hands

looks terrible under magnification-

-crude, rough, and asymmetrical.

But in nature every bit of life is lovely.

And the more magnification we use,

the more details are brought out,

perfectly formed,

like endless sets of boxes within boxes.”

.

Roman Vishniac

~

~

…  pay attention to the world and all that dwells therein

and thereby learn at last to pay attention to yourself

and all that dwells therein.”

.

Frederick Buechner

~

~

It is imperative, whether consciously or not,

that one observe the vast

as well as the infinitesimal

in order to create the image

or choose accurate words that ring true.”

.

Elizabeth Winder

~

~

“Tiny details imperceptible to us decide everything!”

.

W.G. Sebald

~

~

“To pay attention,

this is our endless and proper work.”

.

Mary Oliver

~

~

Photos by Woodland Gnome 2017

~

~

“The present moment is filled with joy and happiness.

If you are attentive, you will see it.”

.

Thich Nhat Hanh

~

~

“Miracles… seem to me to rest not so much upon

… healing power coming suddenly near us from afar

but upon our perceptions being made finer,

so that, for a moment, our eyes can see

and our ears can hear

what is there around us always.”

.

Willa Cather

~

About woodlandgnome

Lifelong teacher and gardener.

6 responses to “Sunday Dinner: Details

  1. oh such a nice scroll tonight…

    and this esp:

    And the more magnification we use,

    the more details are brought out
    so true !
    and earlier today I found some leftover peppermint in my cleared garden area (lobng story, but I had to clear an entire built up area – the blackberry bushes were invcasive and it was just time)
    anyhow, found a few remnants today – a hubiscus – the mint and some onion. lol
    I was attentive to the joy! ha

    • Finding mint sprouting in early spring is a special joy. I love seeing what pops up as the weather warms. I spent some time today enjoying your post about the old Azalea Mall in RVA. Oh, how I miss shopping at M&R and Thalhiemer’s ! Those scenes from decades ago looked like last year . . . It’s a shock to see how much change in so little time . I trust your blogging break is positive . ..I’ve missed you , Yvette . Hugs for you 😊

      • Oh wow – I just drove by that plot of land and wondered if the tiles are still there. There are tons of cars parked there – and I need to stop again – the fence is down.
        And I totally forgot about that post and should have included it in yesterday’s Azalea post.
        but you know, it is even cooler to know that you have shopped at that center – feel a connection in a way….
        and yes, my blog break is really good.
        basketball season for my son just ended – seven months long – and great ending with some good stats and some team trophies.
        now trying to tackle some more writing projects – but it was hard finding my groove – been working on stuff since October (on and off) and think i finally found a writing voice I like. It is a new kind of writing for me and so I htink that is why it took a while.
        anyhow, hope you are doing well dear gardener extraordinaire.
        oh and the mint is even more special because I almost bought a potted bunch of it last week – but decided to wait – because I can actually get some going from a sprig and my friend grows it. and then to see the chunk of it – it was a gift. anyhow, I have learned to grow mint in pots because it is so invasive. and this year my goal is to try and make my own mint tea.
        do you have any tips for that?

  2. Macro/micro observation keeps us on our toes.

  3. Fragrance abounds! I like that first quote. 🙂

    • Yes- I always saw it that way, too. Makes me remember high school Biology and my first views of cells through a microscope- but you find these repeating patterns in all matter, so small as we’ve been able to see it. It is just so beautiful- The lilac hedge in back is in bloom today and yes, fragrance (and sneezing!) abound! ❤ ❤ ❤

We always appreciate your comments. Thank you for adding your insight to the conversation.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 556 other followers

Follow Forest Garden on WordPress.com
Order Classic Caladiums

This Month’s Posts

Topics of Interest

