Sunday Dinner: Shades of Violet

Basil

Basil

~

“To maintain peace in the world,

first maintain peace inside of you.

A restless mind can never generate beneficial ideas.”

 

Mehek Bassi

~

Rose of Sharon

Rose of Sharon

~

“True restfulness, though, is a form of awareness,

a way of being in life.

It is living ordinary life with a sense of ease,

gratitude, appreciation, peace and prayer.

We are restful when ordinary life is enough.”

Ronald Rolheiser

~

Blue Mist Flower, Conoclinium coelestinum

Blue Mist Flower, Conoclinium coelestinum

~

“If a solution fails to appear …

and yet we feel success is just around the corner,

try resting for a while. …

Like the early morning frost, this intellectual refreshment

withers the parasitic and nasty vegetation

that smothers the good seed.

Bursting forth at last is the flower of truth.”


Santiago Ramón y Cajal

~

Oxalis

Oxalis

~

“You rest now.

Rest for longer than you are used to resting.

Make a stillness around you, a field of peace.

Your best work, the best time of your life

will grow out of this peace.”

Peter Heller

~

Catmint

Catmint

~

Photos by Woodland Gnome 2015

~

Rose of Sharon

Rose of Sharon

~

“The most valuable thing

we can do for the psyche, occasionally,

is to let it rest, wander, live in the changing light of room,

not try to be or do anything whatever.”


May Sarton

~

Basil

Basil

 

About woodlandgnome

Lifelong teacher and gardener.

11 responses to “Sunday Dinner: Shades of Violet

  1. The Blue Mist flower photo is a standout.

  2. WG-
    How did you know? These quotes are perfect for me at this moment. I’m in the process of setting up the website for the wetland friends group I am organizing and know I’m close to hitting the wall! Took a break to visit blog buddies ❤
    Perhaps going back at the website would be better resumed tomorrow. After all, it is not a sit down and it's done kind of job.
    Thank you for writing just the right post as just the right time.
    ~Jane

    • Ah, Jane, take a deep breath. I have a dear friend’s teenage daughter serving as webmistress for the new site I set up this summer for our community, but it still takes the time and thought, and energy that it takes. I’m glad you are taking a break. Inspiration comes when we are resting 😉 Thank you for taking time to visit FG ❤

  3. I love purple flowers – in fact, I just wrote about some – and I’m an expert at resting in between bouts of mad busyness. It is true what they say – you need to make your mind receptive (i.e. rested) in order for solutions to appear. In my garden, I do a lot of meditative staring. Seems to work…

    • 🙂 Synchronicity is the sea we rest in ❤ Yes, I work the same way in the garden. So many of our best scientists and engineers find the answers to the conundrums while resting, staring, meditating, traveling, daydreaming, or sleeping! The answers and inspirations bubble up when we give them opportunity and attention. Giant hugs to you, Anna- I hope it is a good day for you and yours- WG

  4. So do all these quotes mean that you took a well-deserved day off? 😉

    • You are too funny, Eliza. I just unloaded 10 loaves of fresh peach sourdough bread from the oven. They baked as I compiled the post 😉 I did take it a little easier today, though, and was feeling a bit guilty about it. The post is to remind myself to value the opportunity for rest- and of course to set the mood for Labor Day. I was doing my weekend thing yesterday and was utterly exhausted by last night, trying to recoup my energy a bit today…. I hope you are enjoying the weekend, ❤ ❤ ❤

We always appreciate your comments. Thank you for adding your insight to the conversation.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 510 other followers

Follow Forest Garden on WordPress.com
Order Classic Caladiums

This Month’s Posts

Topics of Interest

