Wordless Wednesday

 

Honeysuckle vines, growing wild on Jamestown Island.

Honeysuckle vines, growing wild on Jamestown Island.

~

“I will be the gladdest thing under the sun!

I will touch a hundred flowers and not pick one.”

.

Edna St. Vincent Millay

~

Photos by Woodland Gnome 2015

~

May 19, 2015 hot 025

 

 

About woodlandgnome

Lifelong teacher and gardener.

10 responses to “Wordless Wednesday

  1. Ah, the sweet scent of honeysuckle…it always takes me home!

  2. Love the honeysuckle! It is blooming here in Georgia now, too.

  3. This is a good week for honeysuckle.

    • The fragrance is wonderful when it blooms each spring. Takes me back to my high school years, when I wore a “honeysuckle” fragrance. Smelling the honeysuckle is a sure sign it is time for school to let out for the summer 😉

  4. Beautiful photos of such a delicate and graceful flower. I wish I could smell them!

    • Thank you, Eliza. I was thinking about you all day yesterday, and hoping your garden is coming along well. Somehow, this comment went to my spam file…!!! I just found it when checking spam this AM. As much as we correspond through comments, I can’t imagine why WP suddenly sent your kind words to my spam file yesterday. 65 here this AM with rain. Feels so wonderful!

      • I was thinking of you when I saw the weather forecast – great weather for working outside. I mowed the lawn for the 1st time today, but set the blade high to spare the violets and veronica flowers that cover the lawn. I didn’t dare let it go much longer or it’d be to too much for the mower!

        • Or you’d find snakes, like Robin on the Eastern Shore after her trip! It is an annual debate over the first lawn mowing here. We sometimes mow islands around the flowers and trim the edges. Hope you enjoyed the sweet fragrance of newly mown grass. Grass clipping was on the agenda here, but we’ve had steady rain all day.

          • We could use some of that rain, but the cold front is keeping it south of us. I do like the smell of freshly mown grass, but it stirs up lots of dust, mold, etc. so that I have to come in and use my neti pot to clear my nose or I’ll get way too stuffy. I do love my neti!

We always appreciate your comments. Thank you for adding your insight to the conversation.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 554 other followers

Follow Forest Garden on WordPress.com
Order Classic Caladiums

This Month’s Posts

Topics of Interest

