A Re-do and a Potential Success

March 19 bottles 003

~

After constructing several terrariums this winter, I wanted to experiment with an “aqua-terrarium.”  I wanted to try a terrarium of plants growing in a watery environment.

Petco offered a selection of plants sold specifically for use in aquariums, from which I chose two small ferns.  Both ferns were new to me, and so I did a little internet research between buying them and planting them.  Which proved very helpful.

I learned that the Crested Java Fern, Microsorium pteropus, ‘Windelov,’ should be anchored to something and not planted directly into soil, sand or gravel.  And I learned that the (so called) Aqua Fern, Trichomanes javanicum, does not grow well completely submerged.  The success rate of growing this fern in an aquarium long term is slim to none…

I pressed on, allowing the upper leaves of the Aqua Fern to remain above water, and nestled its roots into a pocket of potting mix covered in small stones.

~

January 16, 2015 terrarium 004

~

Less than a week into the experiment it was clear that this was not a healthy planting.  The water quickly grew murky.  The Aqua Fern never perked up.

I decided to cut my losses and save the Crested Java Fern by moving it into a new, soil-less  “aqua-terrarium.’  I used pure spring water in the construction, and placed the newly built container where it would get bright but indirect light for most of the day.

~

March 19 bottles 002

~

And the fern has responded with new growth.  There is not only evidence of new shoots from the base, but what appear to be roots have begun to grow from the tips of some of the fronds!

Native to Southeast Asia, this fern may be found growing along areas that flood and in shallow bodies of fresh or brackish water.  It will grow in anything from moist soil to a completely underwater environment.  And it spreads itself, with those growths on its leaves which take hold to most any surface, to cover wide areas.  I enjoy the beautiful shape of its fronds floating in the water.

~

march 19 vase2 001

~

I clean the surface of the water every week or so with a paper towel before topping off the water level.  I don’t know what the “sheen” which forms on the water’s surface may be, but I remove it and wipe residue from the neck of the vase to keep it looking fresh.

Thus far, I rate this experiment as a potential success, and would recommend it to others who want to try growing an ornamental plant underwater indoors.  Now, I’m considering whether to add a small aquatic snail to help feed the fern and balance the planting….

After cleaning the murky water from the original ‘aqua terrarium’ planting, adding a bit more gravel, and allowing the Aqua fern several weeks to show new growth; I decided a “re-do” was in order.

~

~

Who knows; this poor fern may have been on the decline when I purchased it.  An unfamiliar species, I don’t know how it should have looked to begin with, but it didn’t look particularly appealing from the beginning.

~

March 19 bottles 007~

Back to Petco to find a replacement plant, I was amazed to find several containers of my favorite Peacock Spikemoss on the aquarium plant display!  Really?  I know they appreciate moist soil, but have never heard of growing them completely submerged!

But I decided that while I wouldn’t try to grow it underwater, spikemoss would certainly look better in my vase than the dead fern!  And I just happened to have some clumps already growing well at home…  Remember the Amaryllis planting?  Well, the strawberry begonia plants and spikemoss are still growing strong.

~

March 19 bottles 011

~

The re-do was a simple bit of “chuck and pluck.”  I very unceremoniously chucked the dead fern where all such things land, and plucked a healthy bit of spikemoss and strawberry begonia out of the Amaryllis garden where they were growing.

A bit of re-arranging of stones and cleaning up of the original vase made it ready to accept the new plants.  I added some clumps of moss, an Apophyllite cluster for sparkle, and watered it all in with a bit of pure spring water.

Although not an ‘aqua-terrarium,’ it is still  a pleasing ‘terrarium.’  We will enjoy it until the plants grow too large for the vase.

~

March 19 bottles 009

~

Although the original ‘aqua terrarium’ experiment didn’t work out as I had planned, it has finally worked out OK.  All I lost was a single plant, while gaining some useful experience.

Lessons learned:  Regular potting compost doesn’t work out well in an aqua-terrarium.  Maybe I needed a thicker layer of sand and gravel to contain it, but I still think it was the factor in making the water murky and unpleasant.

Don’t depend on the pet store to recommend appropriate plants for growing underwater.  I should have browsed and noted the names of the plants first;  then done the internet research before making a purchase.  Just because a plant is sold for use in an aquarium doesn’t mean it will grow successfully underwater.

Given the right plant, like the Crested Java Fern,  this approach to an aqua-terrarium works and makes an interesting and unusual display.  I would definitely construct ‘aqua-terrariums’ in future, using the Java fern, with an eye to an interesting container and beautiful stones.

~

March 19 bottles 005

~

This fern is known to grow rapidly and divide easily.  It is a good gift for someone who claims they have no green thumb, but would like to have a plant in their home or office.  There is no worry about over-watering!

Gardening experiments give us ample opportunities to fix our mistakes and try again.  It is better to try something new and learn something, even if we have a ‘re-do’ or three along the way.

~

March 19 bottles 008

~

Woodland Gnome 2015

 

About woodlandgnome

Lifelong teacher and gardener.

14 responses to “A Re-do and a Potential Success

  1. My strawberry begonias multiply like crazy…plenty of material for experimentation. You are certainly exploring new horizons here.

    • So far, I’ve been thrilled with each little strawberry begonia baby. They have all found places to grow. The ones I left out side over winter have amazingly survived our ice and snow! They are still growing strong and look ready to start spreading once again. Hope you have had a wonderful day, Rickii, WG

  2. I do admire your patience! I quickly get irritated with fiddly planting and our water is also very hard and quickly causes unsightly stains on vases or glass containers, so that has always been my excuse until now. But one day I would love to try this!

    • Cathy, I would like to invite you to take part in the Black and White photography challenge in my post Wednesday coming. Are you willing to give it a go? The rules are very simple, and explained in my post today. I hope you are willing to join in 😉 Giant hugs, WG

  3. This must be a real conversation starter for visitors to your home. I say go for it with adding an aquatic snail! And share more pictures if you do, please. 🙂

    • Thank you for the vote of confidence 😉 I am thinking a little snail will be a good thing. Yes, most of my visitors are also plant people, and so we take time to look around. And most everyone leaves with cuttings of something or other 😉 Best wishes, WG

  4. I like what you’ve created! It would be nice at work on a desk. Something living and pretty to look at!

    • Thank you 😉 I think this is a plant which could have much wider use- it is very simple to grow and very beautiful. I wonder whether anyone grows it outside of those interested in aquariums and fish? Thank you for visiting Forest Garden today 😉 Best wishes, WG

  5. Amazing how energetic you are, definitely a curious, adventurous, lifelong learner! It’s wonderful! That apophyllite crystal is so pretty and adds a nice touch to your terrarium. 🙂

We always appreciate your comments. Thank you for adding your insight to the conversation.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 529 other followers

Follow Forest Garden on WordPress.com
Order Classic Caladiums

This Month’s Posts

Topics of Interest

