One Word Photo Challenge: Melon

March 17, 2015 melon 063

~

This is a lovely soft shade of ‘melon.’  Normally I think of watermelon, that bright shade of juicy pink.  This must be the shade of a muskmelon, as it is so subdued. 

~

March 17, 2015 melon 062

~

It is a very close match to a Hellebore I found yesterday, with a lovely and interesting leaf.  It is still in its nursery pot, but one blossom tells its story. 

~

March 17, 2015 melon 070

~

There are other Hellebores opening in the garden which are close enough, I suppose. 

~

March 17, 2015 melon 071

~

Each one is a surprise, as it opens, as each is so different. 

And I would like to finish with a photo of tonight’s stunning sunset over the creek. 

~

March 17, 2015 melon 076

~

 There is a tinge of melon to the clouds.  A beautiful ending to another truly ‘spring’ day.

Melon_430059_i0

With appreciation to Jennifer Nichole Wells

for her One Word Photo Challenge:  Melon

owpc-logo-21

Photos by Woodland Gnome 2015

About woodlandgnome

Lifelong teacher and gardener.

21 responses to “One Word Photo Challenge: Melon

  1. Pingback: One Word Photo Challenge: Mauve | Jennifer Nichole Wells

  2. wanted to come back and show you a few pics of the glads (and thanks for the fun garden chat this weekend – 🙂 )
    and it turns out that I put them in late 2005 – and it was in 2006 when they were tall – but still thin in their spot. And I think I finally thinned them in 2008 – but do not have any pics – but here are a few of the early ones… and this mixed variety even has a melon bloom sometimes – which fits into this post theme a bit too

    • Thank you so much 😉 I’m going to look forward to viewing these and responding in more depth tonight- I’m off now for a day on the road 😉 Please have a wonderful day, and thank you for this. I have enjoyed the chat this morning as well. You are teaching me about growing glads properly 😉 Giant hugs, WG

  3. Such a lovely color to find in nature. I really love your first image. I’ve never seen a flower quite like it and the rigid petals are quite interesting.

    • Yes, this is an unusual one. I was mesmerized by those leaves and odd flowers as soon as I saw it. To find it the perfect shade for your challenge sealed the deal on its immediate adoption 😉 Best wishes, WG

  4. this was such condensed inspiring post – I just expected flowers – but the way you inserted those sentences – very cool. also, I used to have some Hellebore plants – but they are gone….

    • Thank you 😉 My first Hellebores came as a gift from a friend’s garden. She let me dig up some seedlings. Now they ‘hybridize’ themselves and I’m happy to see the flowers on the maturing seedlings as they flower for the first time. Best wishes 😉 WG

      • oh wow – they spread – well they must be super happy there in your fertile ground – but the ones I had did not spread – although they came back for a few years and the single plant became heartier – but I think they did not thrive because at that time I had so much full sun – and the plant was in the small patch of shade… anyhow, I loved it – and I love the unusually colors of the flower featured here – feels similar…. 🙂 ❤
        🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷

        • You are right about the sun. A large fig tree shades my biggest patch during the summer months, and they are at the bottom of a steep slope. I’ve had Hellebores in brighter locations fail to thrive. It may be there need to be several for cross pollination before seeds form. Mine spread from seedlings. I’ve heard Hellebores may be divided, but haven’t tried that… If you have more shade now, perhaps you might have another go at it. They always make me happy in late winter because they are the only thing in the garden blooming (other than Violas in pots) for several weeks. Best wishes, WG

          • well when you put it this way I think I have to try them again 🙂 _ and the pots of viola sound so nice – funny how a little comment can remind me of the beauty of flowers – and well, I am missing them – I did not have any of my daffodils come bak this year – I planted them in 04 =- and they multiplied for years – but it is on a side of the house that kinda runs itself – and in the last four or five years they were blooming less and less – and not sure what happened over on that side – but it needs to be as is – so I am going op put in some more daffodils this year – (fall) but will place them in different areas.

            well hope u have a nice Friday 🙂

            • Thank you 😉 We have some old daffodils here, left by a previous owner, which don’t bloom much any more, too. Sometimes they get too deep over the years, sometimes as the bulbs divide they get too crowded, or trees grow and shade the too much. My neighbor digs and divides his each spring to rejuvenate crowded clumps after they bloom. I’m usually busy with other projects and never quite “get around to it…” Oh, but the potential remains 😉 Best wishes, WG

              • welt thanks – I WAS wondering – I thought either not enough food or maybe ants or rodents had chewed them up… but interesting all the other little things you note – and I know that other bulbs have to be divided or they ail struggle – like the Iris – and then my glads seem to do better when I dig in and share climbs – oh those easy to grow gladiolus’ – ❤ ❤

                • Last year was my first to grow glads- the bulbs were a gift. How often do they need dividing? They were gorgeous last year and we enjoyed them enormously! Never worry about your daffies getting eaten up by rodents… every bit of a daffodil plant is highly poisonous 😉 We plant as many as we’re able each fall in areas where we need to stop vole activity. They are great ‘insurance’ when planted in a ring around new shrubs. The only other thing which might limit blooming is if the previous year their foliage was cut back too soon. Daffies store food for the next year’s growth ( and even form the structures for the following year’s flowers inside the bulb) in those six weeks or so after their blooming when the leaves live on. If cut back too soon, they may not have stored up enough energy for the follow season’s blooms. I hope you can coax yours back into blooming for you by next season 😉 Best wishes, WG

                  • thanks WG – and I knew about leaving the foliage – but thanks – and now it is here for other readers who might be soaking up some tips (and IU know for me I learn more from comments sections sometimes than I do the actual post!). but I did not know they were poisonous – are tulip ones also?

                    and for the Glads, which are always special because I started with a mere four pack of bulbs and they grew in this hard orange Virginia clay and brought me such pride. I later learned all about soil amending, mulch, compost, etc. (and I have a nice version of compost tea) – and so I did not need to thin them until the fourth year – and they were getting so tall – gigantic actually. And now I thin them each year – they have never gotten as tall as that one year – but I keep sharing because I do not want them taking up too much space. I have a vibrunum and rose of sharon in that bed with them – and then I add a mix of flowers – but zinnia and “jumping jacks” are seeded there and they keep coming back. around there too – and the glads will crowd them out.
                    the funny thing is that the glads seem the heartiest I have ever seen , like I left some bulbs in a bucket for weeks – finally gave them away – and they grew for my friend. what a hearty bulb!
                    for some reason I cannot grow garlic! I grow shallots, green onions, and other goodies, but my garlic never seems to work out for me.

  5. Great to see a post today…when I didn’t see a vase post yesterday, I worried that things were amiss, you mustn’t have seen my email either. I guess I am a worrier! I knew you usually see your parents on Sunday, so my mind just does its thing! 🙂
    Beautiful hellabores! I’m definitely going to look into getting some this year. You’ve inspired me!

    • Thank you for noticing, Eliza. I did travel Sunday, stayed later than usual, and was exhausted yesterday. We worked outside for most of the day yesterday and today and there was no energy left for cutting, arranging, photographing, etc. I actually searched my email to see if I had missed one of yours earlier this evening- I’ll look again. Do you still have mashed potato snow? Seeing any ground yet? We were upper 70s here today, but will drop back down tonight. I bought my first tray of annuals yesterday, too 😉 Spring is inevitable 😉 Giant hugs, WG

      • Wicked winds and 24 today (windchill around zero) so the snow is crunchy hard. Grass emerging beneath the bird feeder and next will be over the septic tank – always the first to melt! 😉

        • 😉 We saw the Weather Channel guy standing on the beach at Plymouth getting blown around by the wind this morning. Wicked weather once again- but at least it is sunny and dry 😉 Please stay warm and enjoy the day 😉 WG

  6. Beautiful pics Woodland Gnome! Those hellebores are a lovely shade aren’t they? I love the dusky pink/mauve ones. Oh, and the ones tinged with green! I’m so glad that spring is coming back to your garden. It’s wonderful seeing blooms after a long winter. Blessings, Sarah

    • Blessings to you, Sarah. Is there any growth showing on your Hellebore yet? It is always such fun to see the markings on their little faces. Each one different 😉 Hope you’re well- WG

We always appreciate your comments. Thank you for adding your insight to the conversation.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 514 other followers

Follow Forest Garden on WordPress.com
Order Classic Caladiums

This Month’s Posts

Topics of Interest

