Custom Quilted Flame Maple Cutting Board – Part I

Artist Michael Laico is making a gorgeous “live” cutting board for me in his South Carolina wood shop.

Loved ones gave me cash to purchase exactly what I wanted as their Christmas gift, and I decided to invest it in a beautiful work of art, which I’ll also use every single day in the kitchen.

Michael makes such beautiful custom cutting boards, serving boards, wine bottle stoppers, and so many other items from beautiful  and unusual woods.  His pieces are well made and a joy to use.   It has been an interesting collaborative process  to correspond with him about the details of this work, and it is my pleasure to share his posts about making my cutting board, with you. -WG

Michael's Woodcraft

Flamed-Maple-Billets

A few weeks ago a blogger friend at Forest Garden blog and I were emailing about the holidays, grandchildren, the weather, etc. and she mentioned that she wanted another cutting board. She was looking for a unique cutting board, wanted a live edge, wanted a wood with character and wanted the board to be unique!

She soon picked out Quilted Flame Maple wood. I then started looking for a really nice piece that she might like. I found the two boards in the first picture, both are approximately 26 inches long and 10 inches wide. Since the board on the left had the nicer live edge, this would be the board I would use.

unfinished-maple

I sent her pictures and she loved it. We planned to keep the live edge on one side. The dimensions of her new board needed to be 12 x 14, which was an exact size for the area she planned to store it…

View original post 83 more words

About woodlandgnome

Lifelong teacher and gardener.

One response to “Custom Quilted Flame Maple Cutting Board – Part I

  1. Pingback: Custom Quilted Flame Maple Cutting Board – Part II | Smith's Garden Center

We always appreciate your comments. Thank you for adding your insight to the conversation.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 514 other followers

Follow Forest Garden on WordPress.com
Order Classic Caladiums

This Month’s Posts

Topics of Interest

