Most Generous Gift is Walking With & Scratching Me

There were two beautiful rescued dogs who were a part of our holiday celebrations.

My brother’s dog, Sassy, came home from the shelter last July. She has gained both weight and self-confidence during the months of her healing, and brought liveliness and joy with her on Christmas Day. Basil has been home with loving owners for several years now, and kept us company on New Year’s Eve.

I was touched by this beautiful post this morning, and have the author’s permission to share it with you on Forest Garden.

Please enjoy, and remember to share your love with all creatures as you are able.

WG

smilecalm

“You can judge the character of a man by the way he treats animals” ~Abraham Lincoln.

wanna lick? ~d nelson wanna lick? ~d nelson

When released from this chain-link cage
I promise to be good, I do, I do
and not pull or bark much
as you give me reason to live.
I’ll gift unconditional loving kindness
as we walk outside; spacious and free.

caged caged

Never mind much as I
chew on your shoe &
jump on you – let’s play!
I adore touch, affection
and scratches behind the ears,
just like you.
Oh, is the biscuit in your pocket?

care for me care for me

Watch out as I get the leash
wrapped around your leg,
and cut in front of you,
then lick you, so you laugh
while getting back up
off of the ground.

Next, I’ll sniff grass, flowers and,
well…, you don’t want to know what!
Poo here, pee there
and everywhere we go,
anytime, as I’m…

View original post 197 more words

About woodlandgnome

Lifelong teacher and gardener.

We always appreciate your comments. Thank you for adding your insight to the conversation.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 514 other followers

Follow Forest Garden on WordPress.com
Order Classic Caladiums

This Month’s Posts

Topics of Interest

