One Word Photo Challenge: Taupe

Redbud tree seedpods

Redbud tree seedpods

.

Taupe: Tan, brownish grey or greyish brown; 

Khaki?

.

November 28, 2014 thanksgiving 074

.

Not my favorite color, but sadly, much of our garden fades to taupe in winter.

.

December 5, 2014 ornaments 003

.

This is the dried out husky color of dead grasses.

.

December 3, 2014 CW wreathes 165

.

The bleached left-over color of fallen leaves and dried seed pods. 

.

December  11, 2014 cold 045

.

It is the background, the default; Nature’s neutral. 

.

December 12, 2014 ornaments 003

.

It cloaks the marshes and carpets the forest floor. 

.

December  11, 2014 cold 090

.

We distract ourselves in December with pine green, berry red, cone brown. 

.

December 3, 2014 CW wreathes 170

.

We gild it all with frost and snow. 

.

November 28, 2014 thanksgiving 063

.

But Taupe is patiently waiting. 

It’s death-mask tranquility will still greet us

in January, February, March. 

.

 December  11, 2014 cold 044

.

Beaten by rain, blown by wind, bleached by sun, rotted by time;

Taupe will not  surrender

Until it is overpowered with fresh spring green growth.

.

December 3, 2014 CW wreathes 185

.

Photos by Woodland Gnome 2014

.

March 31 2014 flowers 007

With Appreciation to Jennifer Nichole Wells for her

One Word Photo Challenge:  Taupe

About woodlandgnome

Lifelong teacher and gardener.

7 responses to “One Word Photo Challenge: Taupe

  1. Beautiful post. I love how you call it “nature’s neutral.”
    I’m glad I came to look for your taupe post – I figured you’d made one, and even see that you linked back, but for some reason I haven’t been seeing ping-backs from your blog. I don’t think there’s much you or I can really do about it, but I just wanted you to know that I haven’t forgotten about you 🙂

    • Thank you, Jenny. And thank you for coming to look for it. I believe I even sent you a link in a comment this week, knowing that pingbacks are no longer reliable. A WP problem I hope they can get worked out. I haven’t gotten a pingback to work for the Daily Posts weekly photo challenge for weeks now. Best wishes for a great weekend, WG

  2. Definitely my least favorite color in the landscape. Although it is pretty in the patches of sycamore and stewartia. The color I associate with November before our world becomes white!

We always appreciate your comments. Thank you for adding your insight to the conversation.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 526 other followers

Follow Forest Garden on WordPress.com
Order Classic Caladiums

This Month’s Posts

Topics of Interest

